Learning the Ropes

So I’m officially addicted to weight lifting. It seems like the most idiotic thing to get excited about. This week I can count to 10, next week I’ll count to 12 wah-ha-ha! I really did assume that it was as simple as that though.

But it’s surprise!, NOT. As a girl I’ve grown up hearing the word cardio and skinny intermingled. Not once did I hear a dirty whisper about weights getting you up (your heart rate that is). But they do and you break a sweat. Secrets out!

It’s that feeling of your heart pounding and the progress of wanting to go to the next level that’s so addictive. With endurance I could go faster or I could go longer. But with strength I can lift more, can do more reps, I can slow it down, speed it up, rotate it, combine it, flip it on it’s ass! It’s an adrenaline rush just knowing there’s so much to learn. This is amplified every time I see someone doing a new move (new to me) in the gym. What the hell is that? I want it! I might as well make exercise playing cards cause apparently I want them all. Greedy me.

As I fall for weights I also learn why people do what they do. People wear gloves, not to look cool like I originally thought, but so their hands don’t callus and rip. They also wear sneakers (which I did) and pay attention (which I didn’t) so they don’t drop 45 lb weights on their feet on accident.

photo

So far my favorite exercises are back ones. Dead lifts in particular make me feel like a champ every time.

Grab a barbell with either both palms in or one in and one facing away. With bent knees lift up staying close to your shins and keeping your back straight. I’ve seen people doing this with straight legs but for me that feels awkward, probably cause I’m super inflexible. I started at 40lbs in week 1. Now in week 4 I’ll be reaching for an 80lb barbell and I’m loving how my back muscles feel!!

Here’s to hoping February brings more accomplishments and lots more learning!

3 responses

  1. I’m by no means a weight lifting expert, but my 2 cents of advice is to spend as much time as you can on free weights – not machines. I’ve seen a lot more progress with free weights because (i think) i end up using many more muscles to help stabilize and balance myself.
    Glad to hear you are enjoying it so far!

    • Great advice, I totally agree! I’ve been trying to as much as possible. I was afraid of the free weight section of the gym at first but there’s so much you can do with just a set of dumbbells.

Leave a Reply

